Centerprise Data Integrator

4.3
(20)

Centerprise Data Integrator provides a powerful, scalable, high-performance, and affordable integration platform designed for ease of use by your business information experts, yet robust enough to overcome even the biggest and most complex data integration challenges.
Learn more

Filter Reviews
Ratings
Company Size
User Role
For Category
Industry

Using Centerprise has been transformative for our data migration processes

November 17, 2016

Matt S.
Project Manager at Euclid Technology
Computer Software, 11-50 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

The software is very powerful, intuitive to use, and support has been responsive. One of the best features is the ability to preview the input or output of any step in the data flow.

What do you dislike?

Primary complaint would be I haven't seen much by way of events or community outreach. It would be great to have access to other users, or training/networking events.

Most of my dislikes are tactical and more of a wish-list. For example, refreshing the project tree view causes the tree to collapse, so you lose your place in the tree. As another example, sometimes we write UPDATE statements into SQL Query Source objects - it would be nice to be able to control whether these were executed when previewing the results of a data flow.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Try it out using some real-world data. Find a way to get training or advice - the available documentation is moderately extensive but also only moderately useful.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

The main benefits are time saved and quality increased.

We are conducting data migrations as part of new software implementations. Most of the work is around migrating a client's data from their existing system's data model into ours. Using Centerprise, we've been able to build out a "baseline" migration process that incorporates our business logic and a lot of logging and error-catching. Having this reusable baseline has saved us time as well as increased the quality and capability of our migrations.

Our migrations encounter plenty of client-specific issues, of course, and we also deal with smaller one-off migrations outside of our baseline. We're able to use Centerprise, and in some cases portions of our baseline process to flexibly deal with these quickly and in a high-quality way.

Streamline Data Processes

May 23, 2017

Andre B.
Senior Database Manager
Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

We need to pull data from a wide variety of sources, including text, reports, log files, PDF, Excel, and various databases. There are a number of products on the market which can do this, but we went with Astera because it’s interface is very user friendly. You can drag and drop components to pull data from any source and then manipulate either all of the data or individual fields the same way. This flexibility was obtained without any programming, and since the interface is similar to Microsoft products, there was not much of a learning curve. I love that I don't have to have someone fully trained in SQL code and SSIS in order to develop high quality solutions.

What do you dislike?

We had some issues getting it setup initially in time for the training course and were unable to run it from our Citrix Desktop at first. Both the trainer and support team were excellent at adapting to the situation and they eventually got us the help we needed to get it moving. As with any product that integrates into SQL, we are skeptical of how it will perform and whether or not is will optimize the code in a way that we are comfortable with. So far this has not been an issue.

Recommendations to others considering the product

If you have a lot of semi-structured or unstructured data, this tool may be your best bet on the market. Additionally it can replace much of your SQL Server Integration Services (SSIS) as well.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We use Data Integrator for two main tasks in our environment. Creating ETL loads to our Data Warehouse and moving data from electronic forms via Citrix SecureForms into our Electronic Health Record system. The benefit that Astera gives us in both of these areas, are quick turnaround time and the low barrier of entry to get these projects started. In the future we plan to also use this to mine unstructured or semi-structured data for analytic purposes.

Data Integrator - Amazing product, easy to use, flexible and fantastic support.

November 18, 2016

Mark R.
Systems Analyst at Cognisight, LLC
Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Solution stand-up time is very fast. Our company's extremely rapid development needs were easily met using The product. Out of the box to a working solution took only days, where some of the other products that were sampled would have taken far longer.

What do you dislike?

I can't really find anything I dislike, but there was an issue handling very large XML files. The fix took a bit longer than I would have like. However, the issue did not prevent our company from meeting the aggressive deadlines we faced.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

The problem we faced was using SSIS to translate the complex XML schemas, which proved to be disastrous. Data Integrator allowed us to easily, and very quickly, stand up a solution at a VERY reasonable cost.

User friendly ETL

November 22, 2016

Anonymous
 
Investment Management, 11-50 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

I unexpectedly inherited an ETL process that was integrated with Centerprise with very little transition time. It is user friendly enough that I am able to maintain the system with minimal experience. For most data flows I am able to make adjustments as needed. The prior admin set up alerts when there are errors which is helpful for me. Centerprise has been very reliable.

My score of 10 is based on my limited experience of inheriting and maintaining a fully implemented process -- I've never used or evaluated any competitors.

What do you dislike?

Certain data flows sources have many fields and exceptions. When the files are so complex the visual map is hard to follow.

Recommendations to others considering the product

My understanding is the decision to go with Centerprise was in part to ensure users with non technical backgrounds would be able to maintain Centerprise. I believe the product has lived up to those expectations.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Financial market information. Taking disparate data sources; standardizing, adding information and loading into internal internal SQL-based platform.

Need help finding the right software?
Chat with a G2 Guide

Astera Centerprise is a very good product

November 17, 2016

Mario F.
Business Intelligence / Data Warehouse Architect at Achievers
Computer Software, 201-500 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

Ease of use, clever transformations and in general Centerprise has a library of transformations that even heavy duty tools like Informatica doesn't offer, such as SCD.

You can literally be up and running in a few seconds, with a very low learning curve.

What do you dislike?

When you have to move millions of records, the tool doesn't perform too well. In fact we discovered that the more transformations you have, the slower it becomes. Because o this we replaced many of our transformations with source SQL. Either you do this, or you use their Push down optimization (PDO) capabilities, but this only works within the same database type.

I also don't like their licensing model. They seem fixated on charging per customer, instead of having some sort of server-based license with unlimited users, like Informatica, Yes, they will give you bigger discounts if you buy more, but this is an ETL tool, not a reporting tool.

Recommendations to others considering the product

This tool is incredibly easy to deploy, learn and use, but be prepared to fine tune the heck out of it to get decent performance if you have huge data volumes, Use PDO when possible.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Our nightly ETL warehouse load now relies on Centerprise. We also use it to generate and distribute files easily.

I have been using Centerprise for 5 years

December 21, 2016

Alex S.
Senior Data Scientist
Investment Management

5.0
What do you like best?

Wide functionality, visual capabilities, great support, easy to learn, excellent reliability, actively developed and great price

What do you dislike?

We had some issues at the beginning of implementation, but they were all resolved

Recommendations to others considering the product

Great functionality and way cheaper than Informatica

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

I am responsible for ETL process of Vanderbilt Office of Investments. On daily basis I have to process files with portfolio data and load pricing data from different financial databases. It is all very easy to do with Centerprise.

Centerprise v6

November 22, 2016

Anonymous
 
Religious Institutions, 51-200 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

Over all this is a good application for data integration.

What do you dislike?

Multiple bugs in the software make it so that you need to work more imaginative to get the desired results at times.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Make sure to update to the latest version and know that there are still some bugs but over all it does a good job.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Over all Data integration.

User Friendly and Easy to Learn

December 21, 2016

Anonymous
 
Insurance, 501-1000 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

It is easy to use and fairly intuitive. Making connections between disparate systems is easy.

What do you dislike?

There are many really good methods available that aren't necessarily documented, so documentation could be more complete. Also, exporting from results grids has vary limited options.

Recommendations to others considering the product

There are many different ways to achieve the same goal, but one is usually far more efficient than the rest, so don't be afraid to use trial and error to find the best solution.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Moving bulk data from one database structure to a highly disparate database structure.

Makes Data Transformation Easy

December 21, 2016

Bill P.
Implementation Manager of Sapphire Software
Computer Software, 11-50 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

The ability to use drag and drop functionality with connector-based rules. Provides an easy-to-use platform for non-SQL proficient users to successfully map/move data which turns into huge cost savings.

What do you dislike?

Reusing workflows for slightly different data conditions (data values are slightly different) but is essentially the same fundamental source can be difficult since in-workflow documentation and/or customized-indicators are not available thus forcing out-of-band documentation.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Great product and value.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Efficiency of transforming data from external sources. Realized huge gains in cost savings and time through ease of use and re-usability.

Meets the needs short term. Need Improvement.

November 29, 2016

Anonymous
 
Computer Software

3.5
What do you like best?

easily apply SQL database functionality within a user interface,

What do you dislike?

its abstract or difficult to apply high level sql functions for a dataflow. Must create multi step and indepth thought when trying to apply row number functionality. If Centerprise added these as draggable items it would make life easier.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Solving problems like moving legacy systems to our current software platform. The benefit is that we can create a workflow that is reusable when converting new client from the same legacy software.

Centerprise

December 20, 2016

Anonymous
 
Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

I like that the tool is intuitive, in most cases.

What do you dislike?

We can't add comment on the main pane. Although, the comment text box in some objects exists, it would be nice to have to be able to insert text/comment on the main pane where you can see the flow.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Centerprise is a very good data integration tool, but you should understand your team's expertise and understand what tools they may want to use.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Data integration.

User Friendly ETL

March 20, 2018

Anonymous
 
5001-10,000 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

Easy to use, Drag and drop functionality

What do you dislike?

Documentation , but support will be able to create one once you asked

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Many data file format that we need to be able to extract and load

Centerprise Data Integrator

November 18, 2016

Anonymous
 
Higher Education, 201-500 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

This application is very easy to install and upgrade. The user interface is good.

What do you dislike?

Sometimes trying to find the way to do things is confusing.

Recommendations to others considering the product

This company has an awesome Customer Support Team. They could do better with tutorials and online help.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We are building a Data Warehouse and this tool has been what we're using.

Helpful tool but contains bugs

December 22, 2016

Anonymous
 
Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

3.0
What do you like best?

Wide variety of options in toolbox. Allows regional users flexibility on data sources and option to write own SQL code to populate source.

What do you dislike?

Each new additions seems to contains bugs

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Transferring data from regional offices to main database. For simple jobs at regional offices, tool is simple to setup and start data transfers.

Centerprise Training

February 27, 2017

Sherry G.
Programmer at CRC INDUSTRIES
Chemicals, 51-200 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

Easy to use. Training was well put together.

What do you dislike?

A manual with examples would be helpful. I would have liked to do more real uses that we will use it for.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We are useing the tool to migrate to a new system.

Overall gccd

December 21, 2016

Michael C.
Chief information officer
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

Support is really quality support and very informative.

What do you dislike?

i have been disappointed with the new release parts not working properly i think the new features are really good.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Centralized data before is is obsolete.

ASTERA CENTERPIECE DATA INTEGRATOR

December 21, 2016

Anonymous
 
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Transfer data into relational database and scheduler within Centerpoint to process.

What do you dislike?

Nothing currently that I dislike, but the scheduler to process the data should have better log files explaining problem more when error occurs.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Transfer old data in relational database so the data could be used with other applications.

Working Great for us

June 07, 2018

Anonymous
 
201-500 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

The customer service when there's an issue is awesome!

What do you dislike?

Sometimes the solution to what you need isn't readily discernible.

Recommendations to others considering the product

For smaller applications this software is exceptional.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Integrating data from 4 different sources to create a Data Warehouse.

Not as fast as SSIS but it is easer for a new person to pick up.

June 12, 2018

Anonymous
 
Computer Networking

2.5
What do you like best?

The learning curve on Astera is a lot quicker than SSIS.

What do you dislike?

The actual conversion time running thru Astera is slower than SSIS.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

It is great for quick on the fly one off ETL processes..

It's greatly simplified sharing and synchronizing our data.

November 17, 2016

Anonymous
 
Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

Easy to use interface, and automated process just runs.

What do you dislike?

Occasionally quirky, best to not update versions unless you need to.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Distributing data to business partners

Learning about Centerprise Data Integrator?

We can help you find the solution that fits you best.

Chat with a G2 guide