SAP BusinessObjects BI

3.8
(182)

SAP Business Objects offers data-rich business intelligence. Drive more intelligent processes and decisions _ with business intelligence software.
Learn more

Filter Reviews
Ratings
Company Size
User Role
Industry

Experience with Business Objects

October 30, 2018

Sanya S.
Biostatistician
Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

3.5
What do you like best?

I have used business objects for over 2.5 years now. It is great tool for scripting and developing reports. It has easy drag and drop options to select what variable you want in your final report. If you have large number of facilities and have data stored in multiple universes, it allows you to create a combined query and get final report from multiple universes. You can send your scripts to other Individuals within your team/ For any recurring reports you can schedule them and they run whenever you've set them to run. It has some amazing quick filters that can be used while writing your script that allows you get tailored results.

What do you dislike?

I feel like it has some capability for visualizations but definitely lacks uniqueness and intuitiveness that other visualization tools have. In addition the process of exporting reports is quite time consuming and this is something that can be improved so it becomes more user friendly. The final reports can improve on their filter-ability so it is easier for the user to review only specific data in a more time-efficient manner. Business objects allows you to view the actual SQL script that is run for the your customized report but at times it has different names for the tables that it links to in the data warehouse which at times makes it difficult to cross validate if you want find the associated tables in your data warehouse.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Improved visualization capabilities, make it more user friendly on the aspect of filtering the final reports and exporting them out from the tool.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We use this tool primarily for reporting. Easy to generate structured reports and export it out as excel report and share with the business owners. This tool allows to create and save your scripts in personal folder for ongoing use in the future. We also have some scripts saved on the public folder which other individual can access and run without actually having to recreate them. It is good tool for users who are not proficient in writing scripts in SQL or other reporting tools.

Fast Powerful and Customizable

April 18, 2018

Irv V.
Service Provider Manager | Vixxo
Facilities Services, 1001-5000 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

This software is easy to initially learn, and very powerful in producing reusable reports. It is much faster than my companies internal manual queries. The ability to build off of a saved query and share queries to other users is a great positive. My favorite part is that you can run queries in the background and it does not interfere with your current work or slow your computer down.

What do you dislike?

There is a learning curve to understand how to use the queries/objects and decide which data to pull, so there is training required. Some of the "result objects" also do not pull data but that is likely due to our internal data, not Business objects itself.

Recommendations to others considering the product

I suggest that your company highly consider BusinessObjects. It is truly a powerful software that can be utilized across several industries due to the speed of the data pulls.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Historical Service Request History, Margin Reports, Key Performance Indicators, Accurate and fast Reporting

SAP Business Intelligence

January 16, 2018

Popescu E.
IT Consultant at X-Rite
501-1000 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

I like SAP Business Intelligence because I can use it without having a knowledge of a SQL query language. I can easy connect to my database and data tables and I can set up a easy query to export the needed data records. When I have saved my query, I can save this data to a report or a different file format which can be used to for other SQL tools.

What do you dislike?

There is a bit hard to learn how to generate all those reports. The documentation is not so clear.

Recommendations to others considering the product

I recommend you SAP Business Objects if you want to implement an automated business solution for you company.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

SAP Business Objects provides to my company the capacity to do a business analysis in real time. It should be a must have tool for all the companies and it should be used by any areas to export data and to do business analysis.

SAP BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE IS A GREAT PLATFORM FOR ON-DEMAND DATA EXTRACTION

January 11, 2018

Anonymous
 
Insurance, 5001-10,000 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

SAP Business Intelligence does not require a user to know SQL query language. Simply connect to the data tables and build a quick query to extract the data elements you want. Once you save your query, you can drop this data onto a report or formatted text file for data analysis in a different software. We leverage its automation to set up routine data delivery extracts to the server, thereby eliminating the dependency of I.S. personnel of setting up and running jobs.

What do you dislike?

There is a bit of a learning curve in designing reports, but I really think that is standard of all new software learning experiences.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Implementing a business intelligence solution is important to the livelihood of maintaining the business; if you are dependent in terms of months in getting data extracts from your IT department, you are going to lose precious time to identify opportunities and weaknesses in your operations.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

SAP Business Objects allows our company the ability to leverage real-time business analysis at our finger tips. Companies should make it an important tool that should be utilized by each department to extract data and perform trend analysis..

Need help finding the right software?
Chat with a G2 Guide

Robust Reporting Tool...if the underlying data models are designed properly using Kimball principles

December 28, 2017

Samrat M.
Senior Business Intelligence Analyst(Finance) at Pearson
Education Management, 10,001+ employees

3.5
What do you like best?

Besides being scalable for small to middle sized organisations, it actually does the performance bit better than OBIEE even for large scale companies. BO also have a better data governance framework than other tools such as OBIEE and can be truly called a multi developer friendly tool with versatile integration connectors for all major OLTP systems, be it ERP Finance or HR Management Systems.

What do you dislike?

The tool's licence are expensive but you get what you pay for. SAP's business tool licences in general have never been cheap but that ensures you get proper product support whenever needed.

Recommendations to others considering the product

If you have multiple development teams on distinct projects within the reporting team, use BO as it does have good data governance in place over other vendors.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

SAP BO has good report 'bursting' capabilities sending reports to printer queues across different offices in the UK region without the performance getting bogged down like Oracle's BI Publisher. Many major reports are being sent to the departments using this tool.

A solid Entry in leveraging BI

December 08, 2016

Greg G.
SQL Database/BI Administrator at TenCate
Textiles, 1001-5000 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

One of the things I like about BObj is that, as a BI Manager, I can help varying levels of users. For example, if I have a user that has no interest/technical skill, I can build up a Universe, create an InfoSpace, and design some view sets. If the user is more advanced, maybe I just need to build the universe and let them play with the view sets. Users can insert themselves in the BI process where they feel comfortable.

What do you dislike?

There has traditionally not been a good method of restoring a single item when a user accidentally over-engineers it or deletes it altogether. And until recently, there hasn't been any kind of versioning. There are also, if there is much customization of the environment, it takes a little more effort to upgrade an existing environment or stage a new one.

Recommendations to others considering the product

This tool was here when I was hired a few years ago and now that I've learned it, It's a solid BI tool. If I didn't have a BI tool and I was researching from scratch, I don't know if I'd necessarily hands-down pick this one, but Business Objects would definitely be one of the options I considered.

Sometimes configuration is challenging (unless you are also very familiar with setting up Java VMs). I like the meta-data layer design tool. I like that there are thick and thin versions of the tools users use. Users at this point try to build a report themselves rather than immediately asking me to do it (which is a small miracle). I did end up having to use a 3rd party tool to make me feel safe about backups and versioning (because at the time I started using BObj, there was no recycle bin or version management), but in general I'm happy with the product and am not looking for a replacement solution.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

The problem is that there is an ever-changing series of questions that get asked. Many reporting tools are simply too robust and cumbersome for the standard user. Having lots of data is useless, if it is to hard for the decision-makers to get to. Web Intelligence can be as simple or as complex as the user needs it to be, so it attracts varying levels of experience. Explorer is a very easy to use visualization tool. I've seen Explorer users go from ONLY looking at canned view sets to building their own Information Spaces.

Great reporting with multi-platform support

March 15, 2018

Ashmit T.
IT Professional and Hobbyist Photographer in Greater Minneapolis/St. Paul Area.
Accounting, 51-200 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

Business Objects is a great reporting platform for any business to use. It is easy to use and very customizable. You can do the desktop version and the web version of the software and has a great administration platform for the administrators.

What do you dislike?

SAP is always late on releasing the patches and fixes for its bugs.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

All of the reporting that we do are automated via SAP BusinessObjects. We even automate the Financials and month ends reports with it. It saves a lot of time that none of the reporting has to be done manually inputting numbers by numbers.

Pros and Cons of SAP Business Objects

August 09, 2017

Anonymous
 
Mining & Metals, 1001-5000 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

0. Strong platform for business intelligence

1. Flexible to connect with various data sources such as OLAP, and XML, SharePoint, Java, Microsoft Office and .NET

2.Easy to integrate with LDAP security providers and Single-Sign-On (SSO) solutions for user access and also provide the level of security needed to restrict access

3. Easy to integrate the historical SAP database for reports and does not take much time to pull history like SAP ERP.

4. Multiple BI analysis can be performed to make strategic and tactical decisions

5. Can be linked with SAP visualization tool- SAP lumira and data is easy to handle in MS-Excel and other applications

What do you dislike?

1. User needs to know specific skill sets to get complete benefit

2. Complex structure of SAP ERP can not be managed efficiently in Business objects and data can mislead for some important decisions.

3. License part is bit difficult to understand for users.

4. Difficult for a non-technical person to understand the system

Recommendations to others considering the product

Definitely for the industries which are looking for improving their work efficient and working in cost reduction direction.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

1. Reporting various database which are difficult to pull out SAP -ERP and take huge time

2. Integration of various inputs to provide inputs to operations model

3. Platform for visualization and dashboard to understand performance of global business

This software has reduced waiting time for various database for strategic and tactical business decisions.

SAP Business Objects

May 13, 2018

Christopher J. K.
Compensation & Business Analytics at Morgan Stanley
Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

4.0
What do you like best?

It is very easy to design custom reports and automate the distribution of these reports (weekly, monthly, etc.). This saves us a lot of time and with our recipients of the data

What do you dislike?

It can be somewhat difficult to build custom variables without an extensive background in using BO.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Building custom variables used in reporting takes time and is not as simple as building formulas in Microsoft Excel.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We use it primarily for reporting purposes. We have our SAP Business Objects platform linked with the same database we use for Workday.

Good business tool, but needs modernising to stay relevant

September 26, 2016

Sergiu P.
General Manager at Parabolic Leads
Financial Services, 11-50 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

It is an easy way to share reports across the organization and enables users to view advanced dashboards and analytics without having dedicated software installed on the computer. Managing structure of reporting, sharing links to entire folders or files and setting permission on those folders and files is quite straight forward. It does a decent job at showing analysis on large data sets.

What do you dislike?

Performance wise, sometimes quite slow when loading large daily datasets (3-5 min load times), have seen better optimised systems. Export to Excel 2007, again on large data sets can be quite slow. Interface looks quite a bit dated and I hope they improve on it, to make it more modern and with a touch of animations, quite helpful to have a good and beautiful presentation tool for data (something you can take straight to a board meeting).

Recommendations to others considering the product

The system is quite expensive to implement, so do take careful consideration when acquiring it. If you already have SAP driving a couple of your reporting systems then Business Objects is the way to go to have a proper integration. UI wise and performance wise it is a bit dated, so don't expect pretty and fast changing graphs on the dashboards, but still a very robust system with good features behind it. Hopefully in the near future SAP will modernise it a bit.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Monitoring of daily/monthly performance across a variety of dashboards, graphs. It also serves as a database store for large sets of data that are used in ad-hoc excel files. Helps in keeping information transparent and helps managers see their performance better on daily level.

Business Objects

October 30, 2017

Ryne L.
Web Development Immersive at General Assembly
Internet, 1001-5000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

Usually, a quick turnaround to get data for sales and current customers. I like the breadth of data that can be accessed for customers if they are questioning performance.

What do you dislike?

Sometimes reporting servers go down for days, creating a backup in reporting for regularly scheduled reports.

The view looks old and simplistic but gets the job done.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Provide market-level data to sales, and performance reports to customers.

Some benefits include scheduling reports sent directly to my inbox, running multiple reports at once, and being able to access historical data as far back as the customer has been on with Cars.

SAP B-Objects Reviewed

June 13, 2017

Antoine C.
Open to New & Exciting Opportunities (South, FL/SWFL)
Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

SAP Business Objects is a great tool for business intelligence in office or on the go. Without many actions required, a user is able to access reliable, accurate and up to date intelligence data on the go. This is great for on the go displays, and meetings, anyone is able to securely access the the data they need for essential communications.

What do you dislike?

There aren't many things to dislike about this SAP program. SAP provides a wide array of products and services, utilizing SAP Business Objects, will essentially improve your footprint and traffic by a proven percentage. The layout of this software is provides a clear view of essentials. Vital training must be performed before usage of the program, however, once familiar efficiency will improve.

Recommendations to others considering the product

For anyone who seeks to use this service, I recommend you pay close attention to all the tools, each has its individual function that serves a unique purpose. If you are looking to spend the money for this services, which by the way is a great service for the money, using it the correct way can easily boost sales, traffic among other initiatives to track the consumer behavior, which will ultimately make you a better business owner or organization. Understanding the metrics is the key.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

SAP Business Objects is solving the main business problem most companies have. Understanding their customer base to a level of mastery. Once behaviors are identified, targeting your base is a lot easier, and more importantly you're able to jar their attention the sustainable way.

One of the best if not the best in BI tools

April 27, 2018

Pierce E.
Concert Pianist-Teacher/Director, Wildflower Music Showcase Int'l Recording Competition for Piano, Strings,Chamber Music
Performing Arts, 501-1000 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

I was involved in three BI tool evaluations within a data warehouse initiative. We surveyed all of the majors on the Gartner quadrant, and Business Objects surfaced to the top with the balanced capability of dimensional analysis and ad hoc reporting. The implementation was easy for both IT and the business side, and ETL tools worked seamlessly with it.

What do you dislike?

Not really anything significant to complain about.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Multifaceted problems; from the business side, more self-empowered information extraction and reporting without the hassle of engaging IT and the ROI exercise between multiple depts of the enterprise. Standardized metadata, self-empowered analytical tools. Finally, FTE control of IT resources. A good IT application dept's goal within a business is to automate themselves out of a job.

Good product for large companies, but likely poor for smaller companies (1,000 employees or less)

August 20, 2018

Anonymous
 
10,001+ employees

4.0
What do you like best?

Ability to run and schedule reports off of the server, rather than locally on my machine. I also like the flexibility that our IT teams can build entirely different and very dynamic universes for all different parts of the business. I like the permissions functionality to be sure that the appropriate people have the right access to the reports and behind-the-scenes information.

What do you dislike?

It's not particularly intuitive. I have to be somewhat well-versed in the product to know how to run jobs/reports off the server, so many of my co-workers haven't migrated to the run-jobs-off-the-server thinking. When jobs aren't run off the server, there are limitations (could be the decision of our IT/IS department, I'm not positive) for how many records can be included and unioned.

Recommendations to others considering the product

When you really get into their code, it's less than stellar. Cleaning this up would be nice. For those of us who run a lot of jobs, having CMC default to the proper folder (like can be done in normal BO Production) would be nice and save a ton of time.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Opportunities for revenue improvement at multiple levels (department --> location (which includes multiple departments) --> region (multiple locations)), as well as service line/business unit regardless of physical location.

SAP BusinessObjects 4.1 review

December 16, 2017

Nagraj N.
Project Manager at Capgemini
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

4.5
What do you like best?

1. Ease of new reports creation.

2. Ability to pass reporting parameters from GUI screens.

3. Pretty robust in nature and good security options.

What do you dislike?

1. Universe development bit tedious.

2. Bit complex to run a single report with data from multiple databases.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Robust BI reporting application with easy integration with other tools and databases

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

1. Our client uses SAP BI 4.1 as the standard BI reporting tool as it blends well with other applications.

2. It easily accepts reporting parameters from other GUI based applications.

3. Allow for robust security implementation

Long wait times, but excellent data

April 14, 2017

Kaylin D.
Experienced field service supervisor, sales professional, supply chain specialist and project and program manager
Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

4.0
What do you like best?

I like how all the reports I need to do my job are in one database. I can go to the database, and I can type in a few key words and find a report that will most likely give me what I need. This has really helped me do my job and makes it easier to interact and provide for my customer what they need on a daily basis. It's a great tool that I would recommend. It's helped me get ahead. I also do project work in my role, and I can find reports that support that function as well.

What do you dislike?

When connecting through a VPN, the program can run at a snail's pace. This makes it difficult to do my job, because I'm wasting my time by waiting for a report to run. I'd say if I had a faster system, there would be less worries in my daily use with this product.

Recommendations to others considering the product

It's a great software for pulling the data you need.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

I'm solving a need for data for my customer. I can find all of the relevant data I need to make presentations, provide reports, and help boost sales numbers. I work for a large company, so there is a wealth of knowledge. The reports that are created and put on BI&A for us to run really add to the knowledge base of all employees, since we can type in a few key words and get the information that we need in some form or another.

SAP BO - Top rated BI system in a multinational organization

May 04, 2016

Vytautas T.
SAP BI Specialist
Civil Engineering, 5001-10,000 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Using Web Intelligence tool you can create sophisticated reports and share them on SAP BI platform across the organization. Easy to use from a business users perspective. Possibility to access the reports via URL link without any additional local software on a users PC allows user to use BI reports in the portal or ERP single page applications. Lots of possibilities to maintain user authorizations. BI Audit functionality allows you to analyze the usage of SAP BO. Alert functionality gives the opportunity to get the information about the systems malfunction. SAP BO Monitoring displays the status of the BO servers. Easy to transport the content between different SAP BO environments (DEV, QA, PROD). Performance optimization.

What do you dislike?

It is complicated and can cost a lot of money to implement SAP Business Objects. Without any experience with previous SAP BO versions it can be a little hard to understand the software and the way SAP Business Objects works.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

SAP Business Objects is used by following departments: Finance, Line Management, Business Controlling, Marketing, HR, Corporate etc. It is used across the whole organization in many countries around the world.

Contracts Operatons Manager

October 30, 2017

Anonymous
 
Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

4.5
What do you like best?

The system is well organized, it has all the information you need, it gives you more than enough information. I also like how each company can adjust the system to run according to their needs.

What do you dislike?

Unless you know how to use the reports and the system, it is difficult even though the system has so much information. It would be nice if they can have a quick overview when they put the system together depending on the company needs.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Make sure to understand the report you need from BI, this will help remove all the unnecessary information you may need. In addition, make sure you ask your company to have someone that can train you since SAP BI can be custom built based on your company needs.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Our company runs reports to understand the overall customer information as well as bill our customer through this system.

Business Intelligence Made Easy

September 15, 2017

Anonymous
 
Retail, 1001-5000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

I really enjoyed the drag and drop query capability. When I was using Business Objects, I did not write SQL, and this interface allowed me to pull data in a user-friendly and intuitive way.

What do you dislike?

Graphing was a nice bonus feature, but I tended to do this outside of Business Objects because updating charts was a time suck. Also, scheduling reports made my life easier but I found that some reports would fail with regularity (and these were simple data pulls that should not have been a drain on the system).

Recommendations to others considering the product

Great for users who don't write SQL. Sub-queries were a great asset for pulling data without duplication.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Extracting data from Business Objects allowed me to automate data pulls so I was ready to compile reports as soon as the workday began, and also allowed me to automatically send reports to leaders so they could keep a pulse on their areas.

Business Objects review

November 29, 2016

Jessica W.
Data Integrity Analyst at The University of Notre Dame
Higher Education, 5001-10,000 employees

2.5
What do you like best?

I like best the multiple ways to manipulate a report, and that you can set up to receive it on a daily, weekly, monthly, etc... basis, without having to re-enter your information.

What do you dislike?

It's very specific and doesn't always tell you what you entered incorrectly. You'll get a null report but you won't know why.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Make sure you have the right parameters set!

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

In my office, we need to pull reports on biographical data, and fundraising, so Business Objects helps us focus on a specific group of people. The benefits are pinpointing who we want to reach out to, or find information on.

Great Outcomes, Not User Friendly

July 28, 2017

Anonymous
 
Publishing, 51-200 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

There are so many different sales reports you can run that tell you literally anything you want to know. We use this in book publishing, and I can compare sales history for different titles, or compare by BISAC codes, on sale dates, price points, and so much more that I have not tapped into. I probably understand a sixteenth of the entire software.

What do you dislike?

It's not user friendly. You can't just download it and figure out the multiple uses by playing around. You definitely have to have someone teach you, and there are a lot of factors that will change your report completely if you aren't selecting the right groups or categories. The problem is, unless you really know the software, you'll never know if the report you've run is incorrect or what you're looking for.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Put in a rigorous training program for employees.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

At my new company we don't have it, and there is a lot of information we don't have access to. Business Objects allows you to compare sales from any time frame to another time frame whereas the software I now use only gives you YTD. You can't even select specific months.

SAP handles everything we need

July 19, 2017

Anonymous
 
1001-5000 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Once you get the hang of the system, it's relatively easy to learn how to use different transactions and platforms. It also is nearly the same in its usage from company to company so the skills you learn are transferable.

What do you dislike?

It is easy to make a mistake while learning how each transaction interacts with another. They need to make a "how-to" guide for each transaction that is easy to access on their website. They need a how-to guide that shows pictures and snapshots and explains how each transaction can be applied in certain jobs.

Recommendations to others considering the product

This system is wholesome and great for managing everything you need. Just make sure that when you implement in your business, you have a thorough training course and guidebook for every user. Be sure to have a help and support line available for months after implementation.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We are managing our raw and finished materials inventory and tracking usage and variances. This makes things easy to manage and can easily go back and see what happened, when, and where.

Needs work

October 24, 2017

Gabrielle C.
at
Food & Beverages, 10,001+ employees

3.5
What do you like best?

Considering you have the original encrypted file; it's a good way to get the information you need depending what systems you have merged with it.

What do you dislike?

If you are not consistent with your dates, times, batches, and how you group the info it could render useless.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Offline mode still works; depending on what data you are going after.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

On the spot reporting for errors within our inventory.

Business Objects gives organizations a set of tools to manage and optimize Business Intelligence

June 28, 2016

αηκit s.
SAP BI Consultant
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

4.0
What do you like best?

With its consolidated approach, SAP Business Objects gives organizations a set of tools to manage and optimize Business Intelligence. From a centralized portal, companies handle everything from ETL and data cleansing to predictive dashboards and a variety of reports - Crystal Reports, OLAP, and ad hoc. SAP Business Objects provides solutions for medium to large enterprises, and is configurable to a number of industries, including manufacturing and distribution, financial services, and nonprofits.

SAP is one of the leading companies in the business intelligence industry.

The seriousness and professionalism of SAP is maximum, the products are highly professional and suitable for large companies wanting to establish a comprehensive BI solution structured and well-functioning.

Through SAP Business Objects you can independently develop highly professional products business intelligence, creating optimal and detailed reports, dashboards attractive, and OLAP structures by connecting...

What do you dislike?

SAP Business Object surely is not a product that can be developed by inexperienced users, can certainly be used by intermediate users following a minimum of necessary training.

My least favorite thing about this product would have to be the lack of download capability in more current versions of Excel. Currently, Business Objects only downloads in Excel 2007 format, which can sometimes complicate pulling millions of rows of data into one spreadsheet. Office 2010 and 2013 are capable of handling millions of rows of data, but B.O. cannot deliver it into those new formats.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Depending on your needs and depending on your budget available, carefully consider your goals before you start a process of development and maintenance of a Business Intelligence infrastructure.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Evaluate thoroughly, your need for building data universes or data marts to simplify your users report construction. We went through many data modeling sessions where we worked on the construction of the marts and linked them so that the seemingly disparate data could be joined together to yield very meaningful reports. The better you build your models and marts, the faster your reports will run.

Flexible, Robust, Enterprise-grade Business Intelligence

October 29, 2015

Ron L.
Account Executive at Salesforce
Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

SAP BusinessObjects invented "ad hoc" analytics with Desktop & Web Intelligence (WEBi), back in the mid-90's.

With 20 years of customers (over 3 million users) and solid data governance, WEBi is still the de facto standard for ad hoc analytics.

Together with Crystal Reports SAP BusinessObjects owns over 20% of the world-wide BI marketshare - according to Gartner.

With SAP HANA - Business Objects customers are able to take advantage of in-memory for accelerated analytics performance and reduced cycle time.

What do you dislike?

SAP seems to place a large focus on ERP which is understandable. Howver there is an opportunity to invest more heavily on the proven analytics platform tools, including WEBi and Crystal.

Recommendations to others considering the product

SAP is investing heavily in HANA. Consider this approach for dramatic in-memory performance improvements (reduced cycle times, improved query speed). Also consider Cloud for Analytics if you prefer SaaS applications.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Reduced data integration cost

Improved data quality

Business benefits realized across revenue (up-sells, cross-sells leveraging available data), improved customer service. All areas of the business have been positively impacted with easier access to quality data.

SAP Boxi

August 12, 2017

Anonymous
 
Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 10,001+ employees

4.5
What do you like best?

The best part about SAP Boxi is being able to retrieve sales data on products information for each division base on a lot of different search criteria.

What do you dislike?

Boxi is known to clock and freeze when searching through a lot of data, so it can become daunting when the search takes a long time to obtain and then only to find out there is no data or the data search failed.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Business is a great tool assessing sales data but most likely will need to improve in their search efficiency and need to be a bit more user friendly.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Business problems we are solving with Business Objects is; understanding sales data of how products are being sold, how much each division is generating in sales per product, classifying product information, and taking data to analyze sales trend and how to reduce cost in supplier management.

Business Objects Every Day

October 03, 2017

Anonymous
 
Internet, 1001-5000 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

What do I like best? I use this almost every day to gather client reporting. It is rather quick and very helpful. It is very easy to read and comprehend. Very easy to export and share data with customers/sales partners.

What do you dislike?

I dislike the ability to customize further. Some reporting lacks customization, but it is easily customizable after being exported. Some reports run slower than others, but they are quick for the most part.

Recommendations to others considering the product

I recommend that others consider using Business Objects. It can house a tone of information and assist with a wide variety of thing in, i assume, a wide variety of industries.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

The business problems I am solving are the prevention of cancels and trying to upsell products to make the business more money. Utilizing numbers shown in reporting to assist with upsells and preventing cancellation of service.

In general, a great product to use!

June 09, 2016

Travis H.
Account Assignment
Apparel & Fashion, 201-500 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Very easy to use. A big part of using it correctly is how well you can control the data you want.

What do you dislike?

Finding the right person to setup Business Objects to give you the information in the format that you want.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Do not currently have any additional recommendations. My manager has a vast bit more experience with this product and hence she is able to answer many of the questions that I have. Getting the most out of the product is really about learning how to manipulate the data to suit your needs!

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

This is a great tool to manage our UPC's and Orders for a range of customers in many areas.

Long Process hard to train to new sales staff

April 11, 2017

Anonymous
 
Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

2.0
What do you like best?

I like the templates and work flow process also like the fact that is was accessible in Salesforce.

What do you dislike?

The process itself requires a certain amount of computer logic by the users which isn't the case with most sales executives.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Work on the over all process and try to involve as many as the end users as possible allowing them to be part of the process building not only gives them more ownership on their part but also allows the process to flow a little easier for the end users. Also add as much information about your product as possible and maintain them as best you can, once a lot of products are involved it become combersome.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

The best part of the was ease to access previous quotes for clients made by any previous sales executive if they have left the business made it easy for management to just pick up where they left off.

Works, Just Not for User-Created Analytics

March 22, 2018

Anonymous
 
Farming, 1001-5000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

BOBJ is a great tool, and builds connections very easily to SAP delivered content. It is not limited to SAP BW, and can work with data from in-house applications and SQL.

What do you dislike?

Per SAP, it is not the most user friendly interface. It can be difficult to learn with little documentation on what you are trying to accomplish. Also does not really allow for user-made analytics--only enterprise wide.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

SAP BOBJ allows us to publish our analytics to a repository that can be accessed by anyone in the company.

powerful reporting tool but with poor UI and dynamics

April 25, 2016

Anonymous
 
Computer Hardware, 5001-10,000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

The best thing about SAP Business Objects is the reporting architecture.

The universes are best part you can think of for building any reporting framework.

even if you do not have separate reporting database, universes are like building your virtual reporting DB(if you can afford reporting load on your application database).

we use if a lot for reporting on all enterprise applications and this tool helps a lot on analytics.

the other supporting tools like BODS etc. helps build a better reporting environment.

What do you dislike?

now since the reporting and analytics needs highly responding UI, Business Objects lags in this.

the end user data massaging is pretty slow and bulky.

Recommendations to others considering the product

a very good enterprise reporting tool.

goes well with other ETL tools etc.

if you are considering rich end user experience than features, then you need to think once again.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

A lot of reporting requirements are fulfilled.

end user data analytics and business decisions and taken based on this

I use BO to create and refresh reporting for inventory management

June 12, 2017

Anonymous
 
Hospitality, 501-1000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

Charting and Excel-like reporting - BO interacts well with excel, which is useful for non-BO users to understand what is being shared

What do you dislike?

Restrictive with modifications - I am not sure if it is our current setup, but it is very difficult to modify a report that is created by another producer, especially after they have left the company.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We are using business objects in my role to create if-then reporting so that we can update the system for accurate information sharing, as well as monitor inventory and service levels throughout our distribution network in order to act as proactively as possible to avoid issues.

Great variety of reporting system but has its faults

August 30, 2017

Abby R.
Sales Assistant at Perry Ellis International - @PEICorp
Apparel & Fashion, 1001-5000 employees

3.0
What do you like best?

I like that the reports seem to be full of options to tailor them to your specific needs. There are endless varieties of formatting and information that can be showed in meaningful ways.

What do you dislike?

Sometimes the ways to run reports are not intuitive. The amount of formatting options can be overwhelming and sometimes needed functions are hard to find. Not all reports being live make it hard to remember which need constant refreshing.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Be sure to receive lengthy and thorough training.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Business Objects helps track when orders come in, tracking shipping, and identifying financial issues among reports

Excellent suite of tools with outstanding support

October 04, 2017

Anonymous
 
1001-5000 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

When SAP bought BOBJ they pretty much retained the support organization and we get responsive, technically competent input from them on a regular basis. Products are updated regularly and with significant improvements.

What do you dislike?

My only significant complaint is that the licensing arrangements are complicated and don't always flex with the evolution of the products. Just when you start to learn the names of the products, they rebrand them. Makes keeping track of what you own tricky.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Adopted with gusto across our organization for mobile reporting, dash boarding, and slice and dice reporting.

Business Intelligence: From Great to OK

July 20, 2016

Anonymous
 
Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

2.5
What do you like best?

I started using BusinessObjects when it was newly acquired by SAP. The best thing was its ease of use; fine level of abstraction of "universe", data modelling, views etc.

What do you dislike?

BO has aged with time. It doesn't bear a fancy look anymore. It's heavy-weight and doesn't really facilitate rapid development. Drag and drop feature needs an overhaul.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Look out for light-weight alternatives.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We have to create reports on trend analysis of network congestion, call failure rate, etc. That time BO was a hit, and we used it.

Business Analyst

May 25, 2017

Abbas A.
Senior Business Systems Analyst at Toshiba International Corporation
1001-5000 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Ease of use the power of the BI tools, crystal reports and ease of publishing reports in the BO platform. Integration with Microsoft SharePoint and Microsoft Office :Excel , Word

What do you dislike?

Integration documentation scarcity some trial error necessary depending on ones environment

Recommendations to others considering the product

The users experience and learning curve is negligible. The integration with Microsoft Office products is a huge plus. Use excel pivot tables as your front analysis tied into business objects backend

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Having an insight into our business, easily locate any type information from any source. Publish the report the entire organization has access.

The best BI tool known to man

September 27, 2017

Syed F.
 
5001-10,000 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Flexibility to working against specific databases, SAP oriented environments and free hand sql give the front end users the power as much as the IT DEV team in the new 4.2 RC.

What do you dislike?

I am not a fan of not having enough graphical template in Lumira which doesnt allow to connect live to non SAP sources.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Top benefit is the transition of our tableau users trying their smooth transition into the new Lumira platform with the slight deficiency in graphing templates was surprising to me

Love their last upgrade

June 13, 2018

Anonymous
 
Higher Education, 201-500 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

I love their new homepage with recently used reports, it makes it so much easier than going through all of the drop downs to find the 2 reports I use on a daily basis.

What do you dislike?

I really wish you could customize the exporting layout, that way I don't have to edit it so much in excel.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

I use my specific reports also as a double check for my previous days work.

A bit Comolex but Useful

August 29, 2017

Rachel S.
Manager of Operations and Sales- PepsiCo
Food & Beverages, 10,001+ employees

4.5
What do you like best?

There is so much information in Business Objects and you can really find anything you need to make your sales case

What do you dislike?

Because there is so much information, sometimes you can get caught up in the numbers. Would be better if you can open in excel easier as well

Recommendations to others considering the product

Know what you are trying to say with the data before pulling it, as the info can be too broadscaled and comolex to make sense of unless you know what you're specifically looking for

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Solution based selling

Java Developer with Business Object Exerience

September 09, 2016

Vipul J.
Product Development Engineer at Verizon Connect
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees

2.5
What do you like best?

It is a great tool for BI reporting. There is rarely a need to write custom queries as the universe join and classes do their job well.

What do you dislike?

The queries generated by Business Objets are not optimized and this necessitates to write custom queries for generating views quickly.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Use the desktop version for development and use less Business Objects Infoview as this can lead to slow development.

There are a lot of tools available in the market which are more scalable and less expensive as compared to SAP Business Objects.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We use it as a reporting tool for management's decision making. The transformed data from Oracle Database is used for reporting using Business Object.

Business Objects

February 14, 2017

Anonymous
 
Biotechnology, 5001-10,000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

I like that both internal and external colleagues have user-controlled access to different folders/reports in BO. I also like the automated report feature that auto-emails reports to a set distribution list.

What do you dislike?

I expect auto-distribution to be reliable, so it's annoying when reports are not received via email as expected, and there is no error message alert to prompt the database analyst troubleshoots the problem.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Ensure that there are quality mechanisms already in place in case reports are not running or auto-distribution as expected.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We are trying to automate many operational aspects through reports that are auto-distributed.

BO BI is the best tool for all adhoc reporting and analysis

January 18, 2018

Anonymous
 
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

5.0
What do you like best?

semantic layer and adhoc reporting features. Ability to schedule reports to email , Publications , Crystal reports and user friendly launchpad.

What do you dislike?

Search capability is little bit slow and user selection window doens't work properly in CMC -> Security query.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Making report availability to 5000+ BO users in University of Michigan. Users inlclude staff and students. The reports help users to take better decision in the day to day operations.

SAP Business Objects is Awesome

August 10, 2017

Anonymous
 
Retail, 10,001+ employees

5.0
What do you like best?

I like the ease of use: the information infrastructure is extremely flexible and easy to use. Is a tremendous asset when trying to reduce IT costs and also how to maximize ROI.

What do you dislike?

Find this extremely easy to use when trying to make business decisions. No complaints.

Recommendations to others considering the product

A tremendous piece of software that will help reduce costs and increase ROI. Simple and easy to implement and is extremely flexible. Data can be manipulated to show possible outcomes of decisions and definitely aids in making the right decision.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We have reduced IT costs by over 15% using Business Objects as a decision making tool. It gives us greater flexibility in this department and reduces so much stress.

Great software for analyzing large data and tailoring reports.

July 26, 2016

Trevor H.
Claims Supervisor at Progressive Insurance
Insurance, 10,001+ employees

4.5
What do you like best?

I have used Business Objects for years and the updates only get better. Tailoring a large amount of data to an easy to understand report is critical for our business. The amount of available filters allows for extremely detailed reports and have proven very helpful to the Consultants who receive them.

What do you dislike?

Depending on the size of your report, run times can be a little long.

Recommendations to others considering the product

If you have a large set of data and need to filter it in a number of ways for meaningful reporting, this is the first and best tool to choose.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Large data analysis. Streamlined reports. Increased communication and problem resolution.

Clinical Trial Management System

February 01, 2018

Anonymous
 
Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

4.0
What do you like best?

SAP Business Objects is user-friendly for CRAs in drafting reports, tracking site details and site staff, and managing protocol sites overall, just to name a few.

What do you dislike?

Error messages resulting from certain functions not performed prior to other functions, with same data entered.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Our company uses SAP Business Objects for clinical trial management of protocols, trials, sites, staff, reports, document tracking, action items, and protocol deviations.

Decent Report Running

June 08, 2016

Desireé B.
Production Assistant at Dezine News Accessories
Apparel & Fashion, 201-500 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

I like that everything from another systems I use can be put into a report on this system.

What do you dislike?

I don't like that it takes the data 24 to show up , and be able to be presented in report form.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Real Time reporting, that is such a downfall, I literally have to tell people, i will give you that information tomorrow because my system is a day behind.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Analysis of data.

First time user, very satisfied

January 19, 2017

David H.
Customer Success Representative - Government and Public Sector at eSignLive
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

Used this at my last position. Very concise and efficient with a number of useful customizations to report to the end user. Definitely helpful in day to day operations

What do you dislike?

A bit of a steeper learning curve to begin than some of the competition as well as being somewhat more expensive. Not a deal breaker by any means though.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We were using this to help manage our sales team and manage and analyze the data that came out of their normal daily activities to help inform our strategy.

Powerful Analytical Capabilities!

June 08, 2016

Ramez B.
Senior Analyst at Accenture
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

4.0
What do you like best?

Highly interactive dashboards including drill-through, conditional formatting and complex filtering

Completely flexible WYSIWYG layouts

Wide range of input controls available for what-if analysis

Dashboard and application can published to BI Platform, HANA and NetWeaver Platform

What do you dislike?

More of a developer’s tool where the dashboards are shared with the business users

Demands a specific skillset to operate

Time consuming process to build new or modify the existing ones.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

An IT authoring tool with HTML5 UI technology that provides predefined graphical dashboards and analytic applications to multiple business users.

Real time analysis with live data and Multi Language Support.

Customer- and SAP-delivered content

HANA support and Mobile Support.

Great business tool

October 20, 2017

Ryan P.
Customer Service Representative at Sherwin-Williams
Chemicals, 10,001+ employees

4.0
What do you like best?

You can have all your data in a easy one system.

What do you dislike?

There are some formulas that need to be added to use.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Time savings on day to day activities.

great tool for reporting

September 11, 2017

Varsha M.
Financial Systems Manager at Interbrand
Marketing and Advertising, 1001-5000 employees

3.0
What do you like best?

customizable reporting features with good viewing and editing parameters to work with.

What do you dislike?

THe tool serves its current purpose of creating and customizing reports for our user base.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Reporting and Analytics

Learning about SAP BusinessObjects BI?

We can help you find the solution that fits you best.

Chat with a G2 guide