Sitecore Web Experience Manager

3.4
(69)

Sitecore Web Experience Manager CMS is the platform of choice for leading companies around the world, powering more than 32,000 websites.
Learn more

Filter Reviews
Ratings
Company Size
User Role
For Category
Industry

Sitecore Module Review

December 18, 2017

Melissa W.
Web Marketing Associate | Digital Marketing Consultant | Blogger | Event Marketer | Social Media Enthusiast
Cosmetics, 5001-10,000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

The platform is pretty user friendly. The site structure and hierarchy is fairly easy to follow and the editing capabilities are straightforward for the most part.

What do you dislike?

It's very finicky. Some times the modules don't let you edit like you could previously and you have to discover work-arounds for some things. Also, you should be able to copy a page template and then just replace the content on the new page but when you do that, it copies over all the new content you implement and they shouldn't stay tied together like that.

Recommendations to others considering the product

You have to figure out a lot of work-arounds so when that happens, make sure your team documents them so the other users will have that same knowledge

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We are able to quickly build new landing pages that we can distribute to our markets in other countries for their own use.

Rigid Web Platform

January 18, 2018

Andrea W.
Marketing & Communications Manager at The Woodruff Arts Center

1.5
What do you like best?

That you could find agencies that worked with it and also that you could find tutorials on how to update the website since it is popular.

What do you dislike?

I disliked the fact that we would update content and most of the time the formatting would get messed up. We had to learn some basic "tricks" and code in order to try to figure it out but it was very frustrating if we wanted to give some content updates to someone new who didn't know that Sitecore had issues. Also, it was rigid and we wanted to make things look a lot better but we were stuck in our template.

Recommendations to others considering the product

It was a very rigid platform and I wouldn't recommend it to organizations looking for something versatile and flexible. Marketing couldn't even do basic updates sometimes to the home page due to our restrictions.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

It was the back end to our Woodruff Arts Center website. The benefit is that we needed a website and this fit the purpose.

Sitecore CMS

December 13, 2016

Scott B.
Experienced Web & Digital Marketing Executive
Computer Software, 201-500 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

I like the robust nature of the tool.

The ability to customize or use out of the box.

In addition, the Customer Experience module which is able to personalize content & provide uiq1ue analytics.

With the workflow module, we segment localization to the countries, they update content & the workflow send to the webmaster for accuracy of brand and template presentation.

What do you dislike?

I dislike the separation of the marketing vs. the developer side. In order to make template adjustments one must be a developer to get the manuals. This demands a test for .net.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Great product, easy for marketers, however need experts to develop templates.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We had a brochure type of sharepoint website and converted to Sitecore. It has the marketing ability for content management, easy for localized countries, personalization, analytics for personalization, and responsive.

We are now a lead & education driving website.

Sitecore Review- Great Product!

January 28, 2018

Anonymous
 
Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

4.5
What do you like best?

Thoroughly enjoy using Sitecore more so than others. We have switched from another platform to this one and so far we have liked it. We are currently going through a content migration that will be going on for a little while.

What do you dislike?

Sometimes loading time is a bit long. The screen will freeze and I will have to reload. This can be frustrating. I usually log out and give it some time and try again a bit later. Hopefully this is something that will improve over time.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Definitely would recommend.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Problems that are being solved include innovative marketing techniques and operations. We believed we could achieve a lot by using Sitecore and thought it was our best bet. This system is a lot more efficient.

Need help finding the right software?
Chat with a G2 Guide

Easy to use platform with tons of customization

January 03, 2018

Marianna B.
Marketing Communications Manager @ Tensar International
Civil Engineering, 501-1000 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

The ability to build minimal to robust personalized sites. Also, reusing existing content is easy - no one likes starting from scratch!

What do you dislike?

Uploading files could be more streamlined.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Easy to use and customize.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Website content management and soon for personalized customer digital experiences. We realized we are only scratching the surface of what is possible using SiteCore for personalized experiences. We are also in the process of integrating a new CRM system with the platform. This will lead to stronger digital inbound strategies and results.

Robust, Scalable and Low on Cost : This is SiteCore

October 24, 2017

Nikhil A.
Functional Consultant at Tata Consultancy Services
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

5.0
What do you like best?

SiteCore is easy to use, has incredible functionality to integrate with third party applications and tools.

The ability to build over a base product and ease of integrations is the feature I like best.

What do you dislike?

The pricing model isn't consistent across implementations. I would have liked to see this product have a stronger sales team and support.

Recommendations to others considering the product

If you are dreaming of a product of the Class of Adobe AEM and expect SiteCore to perform just as well, then you would want to rethink!

If you are a small to medium size enterprise looking at cost effective solutions to launch, then SiteCore is the way to go.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Building websites and e-Commerce platforms for our end clients. Integrating the SiteCore engine with an Intelligent Campaign management system and web analytics

Sitecore is a great CMS for larger businesses

March 30, 2016

Erin H.
Business Systems Analysis Sr. Advisor
Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

4.5
What do you like best?

I love the way sitecore is organized, and I especially love the easy to use dashboard in sitecore 8. The experience editor allows users who are not technically inclined to easily manage their content on a page by page basis, and the content manager itself lets users delve into their content a little deeper if they so choose. Sitecore seems very customizable too, which is a great feature for websites with very specific requirements or needs. The marketing area of sitecore, when utilized properly, can allow for content to be switched out due to certain parameters and experience editor allows a user to perform a/b variant testing which can be quite useful. Overall, there's a lot to love about sitecore, but it may be overkill for one's needs based on what kind of business and website they're looking to run. Have I mentioned sitecore's security role flexibility? There's a task flow that can be customized for creating content, so that a user who creates or edits content can be prevented...

What do you dislike?

The price is definitely a con for sitecore, as CMSes such as joomla can be acquired for free. We also offer services for Umbraco and Kentico since they can be purchased for reduced rates, for our smaller clients that don't need something as robust and inclusive as sitecore. I'm also not a fan of sitecore buckets, as it feels incredibly disorganized and forces the user to rely heavily on the search functionality within sitecore to find content.

Recommendations to others considering the product

As stated before, sitecore is a very robust tool, and as such, its pricing can differ. It's very important to gather and analyze the needs and requirements of the company before deciding what level of service to purchase. For example, if the company doesn't have a focused marketing department, it might not be worth the time and money to focus on the marketing tools within sitecore. Some websites may use third party forms and not require setup and development for web forms for marketers, etc.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

The company that I work for offers sitecore designed and developed websites, so we are often solving our client's problems rather than our own. We utilize sitecore for all kinds of sites, from hugely content driven webpages to third party integrations. Sitecore is very flexible, so it can be used to solve a lot of different goals or problems a client may be facing.

An awesomely powerful CMS... but with great power comes great responsibility.

January 26, 2017

Anonymous
 
Higher Education, 201-500 employees

3.0
What do you like best?

Because Sitecore is such a powerful platform on which you can develop whatever you can dream up, every time we've said "I wish we the CMS could do [whatever]," we've realized we could develop or configure it to do just about anything we want. This is a great benefit of the product. However, that also means that we are having to do a lot more development and tweaking than we have with other CMSes. You can do just about anything with it, but you will have to plan to develop it: templates, mobile responsiveness, SEO implementation, workflows, etc.

We also like many of the advanced marketing analytics, campaign, and personalization capabilities and are looking forward to using these features – but we have not utilize them much yet. These were some of the features that led us to choose the platform.

Note: We are new to Sitecore and in the midst of transitioning a large University website and intranet to it, so my comments are coming from the perspective of a relatively new...

What do you dislike?

There can be a steep learning for Sitecore, especially for those coming from WordPress or other CMSes targeted at a simplified content editor experience. The application seems to be making strides in the area of user-friendliness, however. The 8.0 update and Launchpad UI is much less intimidating for new users. But the Content Editor experience can still be intimidating for new users and the Experience Editor can also be complex and confusing for inexperienced editors.

Also, because Sitecore is a proprietary, commercial, enterprise-class platform, it is not as easy to find and acquire plug-ins/extensions and some of the best ones available can be pricey. Likewise Sitecore developers and content editors with experience on the platform are also harder to find (though a good .NET developer should be able to learn Sitecore quickly). Sitecore seems to be gaining momentum, however, so this may be changing.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Moving public website and creating completely intranet on the platform for a mid-size, private university. Approximately 5,000 pages being built across the two sites, coordinating with around 500 business users.

Sitecore is the best CMS platform I've ever used.

January 31, 2018

Anonymous
 
10,001+ employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Sitecore is the best CMS platform I've ever used. The structure, variety of templates, approval process, publishing time are all excellent. When teaching sitecore to new users, we often get feedback of ease of use and structure.

What do you dislike?

Sometimes the product can queue for a bit for non-admin users, but it has helped a lot since we cleaned out our Media Library. Sitecore also times out quicker than I'd like.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Sitecore is a streamlined, efficient platform to manage content on. Whethere it's a web experience, or finding SEO value, Sitecore is able to help your business problems.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Sitecore helps us to create an excellent web experience for our customers.

SiteCore as a Web Content Management Platform

January 05, 2018

Anonymous
 
Food & Beverages, 10,001+ employees

3.5
What do you like best?

SiteCore is a template and module driven WCM platform that if utilized correctly, provides powerful, real-time content authoring capabilities to fuel website content strategies. The SiteCore interface is powerful, with a straightforward user interface that is fairly intuitive for content authors. The interface can be managed by non-technical resources.

What do you dislike?

SiteCore is an expensive platform in both licensing and from a development standpoint.

Recommendations to others considering the product

If your WCM needs are enterprise, SiteCore is a terrific solution, but it requires investment in both capital and management.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

SiteCore has allowed our businesses the opportunity to increase our content authoring and deployment frequency as well as enable our websites to reach more consumers, more quickly and with scale.

Sitecore is the best CMS system I've ever used.

August 22, 2017

Anonymous
 
Insurance, 501-1000 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

I love how, as a developer, I can tap into the system and override/change anything I need to. With how they use pipelines I can control every aspect of the CMS system I need to while leaving the rest to do what it already does best. I also love how the tool allows developers to be able to build a robust system for other teams or end users to use. If the system is built the right way, there is very little developer involvement after going live when new pages are needed. Obviously, new functionality will require developer involvement, but that has been very easy to implement. I also love the personalization that sitecore offers content teams to be able to personalize content for users. I have used a lot of CMS systems over my career and this one is by far the best.

What do you dislike?

The system is so complex that it can be very time consuming to learn how to do something with Sitecore. Thankfully, there are a lot of people out there who can and are willing to help because it's such a widely used tool. It's also very expensive so you need to present a very compelling case to convince upper management to pay for it.

Recommendations to others considering the product

I recommend doing your homework fully before investing in a CMS as big as this because it can be overwhelming initially to set up and configure and management needs to know the cost before diving in.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We wanted a CMS system that would allow developers to build the initial platform and then be able to hand it off to a design/content team to manage the website afterwards with little to no developer involvement.

Subpar product

March 28, 2018

Anonymous
 
11-50 employees

1.5
What do you like best?

I like that you can update all pages of your site in one place.

What do you dislike?

It is constantly freezing and glitching. If you do not save every few minutes you lose all your work. There are a lot of features that should be easy, but instead require back-end work. The setup itself is not intuitive or user friendly at all.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Make sure you get a lot of training and documentation! I have been using this product for nearly 3 years and I still need to look at my notes when I use it.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Website page hosting

Gets the job done

April 12, 2018

Anonymous
 
51-200 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

The HTML compatible features are easy to use.

What do you dislike?

How slow the software is, as well as how when publishing related items it backs up the entire server for more than two hours.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We use Sitecore to create custom content web pages in order for small business to rank better on Google and other search engines. Benefits of Sitecore include the ability to create custom pages from clients and be able to edit them on an as need basis over a period of time to slowing increase rank on search engines such as Google.

i am a higher ed marketing director and we have used sitecore since 2012

January 19, 2017

Anonymous
 
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

4.0
What do you like best?

I like the basic functionality of the content management system and the ability to enable distributed authorship. I also like that as non IT people we have the ability to add videos and graphics without relying on our very busy IT department. we are also now leveraging more and more the experience manager and building engagement plans against 5 key personaes and this is where things are getting very exciting.

What do you dislike?

the challenge with new versions and upgrading your version has been tough. we recently did a batch version update and ended up with some really scary performance issues. we have ended up having to pay a digital agency to fix these for us as the site was in danger of collapse. It also does get expensive to always have to return to a vendor for new development work

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

we have a large number of website visitors who do not declare themselves outright. through the experience manager we can see that the personaes we have discovered are actually the right ones based on their content consumption. now we are developing "blog" posts written based on the psychology of the user and will soon watch if this works and we increase those interested in applying through this online lead cultivation. very interesting

Best System yet

July 25, 2017

Anonymous
 
Accounting, 1001-5000 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

Ease of use compared to others, when evaluating it met the large list of functional requirements we had for our cms

What do you dislike?

The training/documentation is all online - great for convenience, but sometimes would be helpful to talk to someone, event management is an area we are looking to go outside the platform for.

Recommendations to others considering the product

There is a learning curve - be active in training.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Our website is a core component of our digital marketing strategy and client experience, we needed a tool to accomplish all current action and be scale-able for the future. Sitecore was the cms that allowed us those benefits

Easy-to-use software

December 11, 2017

Anonymous
 
Computer Software, 1001-5000 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

I'm not a pro at building websites, but Sitecore makes it easy for me to do so!

What do you dislike?

There's nothing I dislike about the software -- I'll say it times out after a little while so you must save your work often.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Understand that, like any software, there is a learning curve involved in using the product. Once you understand it, though, it's easy to use.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We're creating content digitally in an agile manner. We're responsive to changes in our industry, faster, thanks to the ease of use from Sitecore.

Website production

May 24, 2016

Celeste M.
Onboarding Manager at The Federal Savings Bank
Financial Services, 501-1000 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

With no experience, I was able to grasp the basics of sitecore and use it in my daily work routine. Great for beginners but still extremely flexible.

What do you dislike?

Can be harsh to deal with, slow at times. Just like any other program, it sometimes has glitches and it is about figuring out the issue and tracing back.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

I am creating websites for our employees. I like how a person can take a big vision and put it into reality with it. Not too big on problem solving on my end but I'm sure it has been for others who use sitecore in my company.

A content-author friendly platform

January 23, 2017

Amanda H.
Senior Consultant at non~linear creations (NLC)
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Sitecore's basic objects allow inheritance and reuse. This allows an information architecture to be developed that can be easily navigated by end users while allowing them to build complex experiences.

What do you dislike?

The content author interface has two modes: one is a content administration GUI and one is a WYSIWYG GUI. While the rendering of the second is really great at showing you the experience you're creating, it doesn't offer all the need features.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

I work as a consultant and the problems I solve for my customers have to do with targeted experiences: using site visitor behaviors to determine a target persona, which can then be used to provide targeted messages and experiences.

Sitecore is a very user friendly interface

October 24, 2016

Lindsey B.
Digital Content Manager at International Market Centers
Real Estate

5.0
What do you like best?

Out of all the CMS interfaces I've used, Sitecore, is the most easiest and understandable to use. While it's very user-friendly, and easily customizable, it is difficult to add components to certain pages that are set up a certain way.

What do you dislike?

While it's highly customizable, basic HTML isn't allowed for input upon creating pages and content for website. Also, when one is performing back-end work, you can't work publish content as needed.

Recommendations to others considering the product

This is a great CMS platform, and one of the best ones to navigate. Seriously consider implementing this as your new CMS!

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Business problems being solved are efficiency with content, time management with content, and the ability to use the interface front and back-end during submit and publishing.

Enterprise CMS for dotnet companies

July 21, 2015

Robert N.
Head of Digital at Robert Walters
Management Consulting, 5001-10,000 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

Sitecore is a powerful CMS, that works well in an enterprise environment with a great ability to customize and integrate into your marketing efforts. If you've got the budget for this its great - a very powerful system, and getting better with newer releases.

What do you dislike?

They can sometimes focus too much on the "added extra" of the marketing functions, whereas for their main clients (enterprises with budget) many of them have Marketo/Eloqua etc, and therefore dont need this functionality. At this point integration into these systems is more limited.

Sitecore is also very expensive to develop - not a cheap option for a website!!!

Recommendations to others considering the product

check development costs & how you'll upgrade to new versions

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Creating an enterprise suite of websites for a global company - a modern CMS with greater technical capability and ability to integrate with Dynamics our CRM.

Powerful, but not the most intuitive CMS around

February 28, 2015

Megan W.
Marketing Manager for Leading Global Software Group - Bond International Software
Computer Software, 201-500 employees

3.0
What do you like best?

It's extremely powerful. Sitecore has functionality to allow a large company to have multiple users making modifications with intricate security and permissions. You can also have multiple languages and globalisation of a website for use with global companies. Adding new pages is easy, along with editing and making modifications to existing pages. From this aspect, it's pretty quick and easy for someone to learn how to modify their website.

What do you dislike?

Although Sitecore is powerful, it's also clunky and way too much of a system for a smaller company to use. I have used several different CMS systems, and Sitecore is probably one of the most challenging. If you don't use a process with several steps for adding, editing and approving content, you are left with several seemingly unnecessary steps to complete. Adding a new page or image takes several clicks. Depending on the browser used, I have seen issues where certain functionality isn't accessible, or areas of the admin portal are greyed out. This could of course be only in the environment I use, but it does seem a bit finicky at times.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Do your research. Find out if this product is truly the right product for your company. It's a powerful beast, but make sure it's the beast you actually need. Also, if you don't have someone in house that knows Sitecore, you will need to use company to help with any cosmetic changes needed.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We have a business website, and using Sitecore allows us to modify and edit content. We use a third party to make the customisations of the site, but it is hosted by our company. To be honest I am not sure if any real benefits have been realised yet. There are still too many frustrations. Its not that Sitecore is a bad product, it's perhaps too much of a product for what we truly need.

Powerful content and marketing platform

August 23, 2016

Ruben C.
Technical Specialist at Habanero Consulting Group
Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Industry leading marketing features. Powerful platform for custom built solutions. Flexible extensibility!

What do you dislike?

High licensing cost. This proves to be a barrier to entry for a lot of potential clients.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Find a trusted and experienced partner for your implementation. There are right ways and wrong ways to work with Sitecore and the wrong ways will cost you.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Engagement analytics for web facing assets. Easy authoring via data centric information architecture.

Powerful but complex

January 05, 2018

Anonymous
 
1001-5000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

This platform has tons of capability and continues to evolve and expand.

What do you dislike?

As a medium-to-large business, it is challenging to leverage all the power this tool has to offer. It requires customization to enable most functions and developers are costly and often difficult to acquire or retain.

Recommendations to others considering the product

If you are not currently using a large scale CMS, be prepared for significant training requirements and a less than obvious admin user experience. The content authoring UI could use improvement.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Sitecore provides us with an enterprise level system for managing website content across multiple sites, in multiple languages. It gives us the ability to personalize content and offers advanced metrics.

Interface not intuitive, clunky product overall

December 20, 2017

Gina G.
Assistant Director, Marketing - Carnegie Bosch Institute of Carnegie Mellon University
Education Management, 201-500 employees

1.0
What do you like best?

Once you surmount the learning curve, Sitecore does allow you to make website updates.

What do you dislike?

The interface is not intuitive, causing a lot of problems for people that are not technically savvy.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Updating webpages.

BackOffice administrator

April 06, 2016

Anonymous
 
Environmental Services, 1001-5000 employees

2.5
What do you like best?

SiteCore is a big machine.

This tool is one of the heaviest and expandable CMS (Content Management System) I've been working on. Everything car be done but requires most of the time specific developments. It means that a SiteCore project costs a lot.

If your Company has a Website Project, eCommerce, Corporate and so on, SiteCore is an option.

What I like the best in SiteCore is its flexibility. Nothing is fixed. Your solution can always be improved through many assistants. And if standard CMS features doesn't fill your needs, then your can explore Marketing extension, search engine optimisation options, emailing system add-ons and much more.

The roles management is also very very powerful. You can fine tune each profile or manage them by group.

One of the best feature we are using is the font end page editor. In it, a user with the correct rights will be able to place, within an predefine layout, components in different place-holders. It's very very convenient as soon as you...

What do you dislike?

It's complex, not really user friendly and not easy to learn.

Its an heavy tool, meaning that when you want to deploy a SiteCore solution, it can't be done like if you want to deploy a Wordpress Blog. It requires a lot of parameters, a dedicated IT company to manage the dev project, a team in your company to handle the project as well, and time.

The probably most disliked aspect of SiteCore is its user interface. Old fashion, and too complex, it's a real cons for users used to do everything on nice interfaces.

There are pros and cons, but SiteCore should be considered only for big Websites and for companies with large internal IT and Communication team.

Lastly, the cost. It's not free at all. In addition to the IT external company needed to setup the initial solution as well as to do any update, the SiteCore licence itself is expensive.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Think twice before to jump into SiteCore. As such, this solution is most of the time, deployed via a 3rd party IT company. Ask advises and compare with other similar solution. Keep in mind that SiteCore is not a user friendly CMS.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We had to find a solution that allows us to publish thousands of contents through several main websites as well as in different language.

To stay flexible, we have imagine a Tagging solution that let us, basically, specifying in SiteCore that we want to display in "This" page contents tagged with this keyword and this keyword.

An easy to understand the concept is to imagine a recipient page, used to display news on our french office website. SiteCore will dig into our silo of content and will display all the ones tagged "News, French, ...".

This very flexible approach requires to be strict and rules on how to use tags. This is an internal process.

Sitecore Web CMS

January 04, 2017

Anonymous
 
11-50 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

It's robust and has led to stronger SEO for us. After a little catching on, it became easy to use from an authoring standpoint. Pretty good internal search, too, but you've got to remember the name of the file or where you tagged it.

What do you dislike?

Sometimes it's overwhelming, the number of fields you can use. Hard to remember what they all do. We didn't have auto-save for the longest time and finally had a developer add it. That was a frustration.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

SEO, workflow, smoother site redesign (though you'd have to ask developers that one).

Sitecore helps power non-profit fundraising

October 03, 2016

Mark J.
VP Brand Strategy & Chief Communications Officer at Kids Help Phone
Fund-Raising, 51-200 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

Ability to distribute content management.

What do you dislike?

Can be complex to newbies to the platform.

Recommendations to others considering the product

ensure that you have a strong partner to help with initial setup and configuration

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Our main business problem was to put a platform in place that allowed ease of content updates, while allowing for scaling of sophistication of marketing activities through things like personalization and insights.

Horrible Implementation

April 25, 2016

Anonymous
 
Machinery, 1001-5000 employees

What do you like best?

We were promised a lot of bells and whistles with Sitecore. They offer training, which we did send an employee to, which is nice. There is apparently the ability to perform remarketing and advanced scripting.

What do you dislike?

The software is horrible. Perhaps it was our installation, but if a product is that hard to implement and install, then it cannot be considered very user friendly. It can take hours for us to publish one change on the website, and then it usually fails and we have to start over from the beginning. The media library is atrocious, and the .aspx file extensions make everything unnecessarily complicated. The templating system is a disaster and we are praying that we can switch to Wordpress.

Recommendations to others considering the product

A recommended installer

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

It is our CMS for two of our websites. It has not really solved anything, except giving us some sort of web presence. We have seen very few benefits, since the software is mostly unusable.

Sitecore - helpful and easy to use

January 11, 2018

Anonymous
 
Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

The latest Sitecore update is easy to navigate, visually more appealing, and more intuitive than the older versions. There are also some nice new features that allow us to do things like A/B test more easily.

What do you dislike?

Nothing autosaves and it ruins my life sometimes.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Very easy to manage websites, add features or permissions to individual pages, tagging content helps in our website's searchability, etc.

Upgrade from Custom CMS to Sitecore

December 14, 2017

Anonymous
 
201-500 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

I like how quick and easy it is to upload, modify, create anything on the website.

What do you dislike?

Though the approval process is needed to a degree, in the latest Sitecore, it feels rather cumbersome, and actually slows down fixes and updates at times.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

High usability for individual business units - quite an improvement from our hybrid custom CMS. Much easier to manage as well.

A Robust Content Management System

December 01, 2014

Erica M.
Community Strategist, HDI & ICMI, UBM Americas
Management Consulting, 51-200 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

We use Sitecore to manage our entire website, and I currently use it on a daily basis to update our blog. I love how easy it is to integrate third party tools, upload and store files and photos, and collaborate with other members of the team. All in all, it's a very robust content management system that allows for a lot of customization. If you're looking to go beyond a basic template based system, seriously consider Sitecore.

What do you dislike?

The learning curve for Sitecore is a bit more involved than it is for a CMS like Wordpress. I'm very tech savvy, and It took me awhile to become become comfortable using all of Sitecore's features. Plan for a longer ramp up time when training new team members.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Be sure to build in ample time for training and testing!

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Sitecore enables our team to quickly and easily make adjustments, so our site is currently improving to better meet the needs of our customers.

Sitecore is flexible and highly customizable CMS.

December 01, 2014

Sasha T.
Sitecore Technical Director at Interactive Strategies
Internet, 11-50 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

Sitecore is a CMS that is written in Sitecore. As a result, you can tweak and modify as much as you need to the native functionality of Sitecore by doing updates in CMS friendly way, as you would do to normal content you use day to day.

What do you dislike?

There is a definitely high starting threshold. You need to learn a lot to do the customization required to meet customer needs. There are couple starters, but you definitely would like somebody on staff of a partner agency in order to start with Sitecore.

Also the pricing model has changed, now you need to pay license for each environment other than development one. Before that all environments other than production were free.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Be sure to assess all the need of the business ahead of time, as licensing costs can accumulate quickly. You would like to go content first, as it will allow you to properly organize your content in hierarchy that will support the back-end architecture the best - for usability, friendliness and easiness of use. Plan ahead your needs in workflow, security, review various modules that can be used. Make ahead of time an upgrade plan so that you keep your solution up to date and current with patches, fixes and also give plenty of time for taking care of bugs if there are lots of customization involved.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Business needs are vary dramatically. Some really enjoy workflow, some security, some integration points that Sitecore allows. There are many modules as well on Shared Modules at Sitecore Marketplace to make things easier.

great CMS for larger businesses

July 14, 2016

Colin M.
eCommerce Business Specialist at Dorel Juvenile
Consumer Goods, 5001-10,000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

Content is organized by language which is different from most Content Management Systems. Navigation is very similar to a Windows desktop.

What do you dislike?

Very slow at times. Depending on the setup, the files can be very unorganized making it very hard to add assets to a webpage.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Creating webpages for multiple brands across a large organization.

Sitecore Review

May 04, 2016

Anonymous
 
Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

1.0
What do you like best?

Our national office, which hosts our website, requires that we use Sitecore as a CMS.

What do you dislike?

It's not very intuitive as a CMS, and I've use a lot of management systems.

Recommendations to others considering the product

I strongly prefer WordPress to Sitecore, based on the ease of use. However, it you don't have a choice, I would suggest keeping all of your Media items well organized.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

They host our website, which serves as our communications hub. This CMS does allow our national office to host multiple chapter websites under the same central hub.

A good CMS choice

December 14, 2017

Anonymous
 
Education Management, 51-200 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

Sitecore is an easy-to-navigate content management system that meets the basic needs of an organization.

What do you dislike?

There are probably opportunities to make it easier to transport content seamlessly from existing documents.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Sitecore is the driving force behind our entire website, from product and resource pages to our vast blog network.

Sold the bells and whistles

July 13, 2016

Anonymous
 
Consumer Goods, 51-200 employees

1.5
What do you like best?

I think that Sitecore could be a great platform for a minimalist site.

What do you dislike?

Sitecore is very expensive and the base model just doesn't cover what you need. We constantly had to add modules onto what we bought, the implementation was horrible, slow responses, and the email platform was HORRIBLE! They claim the product is drag and drop, but that isn't true. it constantly freezes and has hiccups.

Recommendations to others considering the product

move on

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Trying to provide a very tailored customer experience to visitors.

Dynamic!

January 05, 2015

Taylor A.
Growth Marketing
Internet, 51-200 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Sitecore makes it easy for everybody to be involved in our content management, not just our developers.

This allows us to implement best practices across all of our web properties.

What do you dislike?

It could probably be more flexible and allow more changes.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Identify your current pain points and bring them up with your representative.

Make sure that all types of users (admins, end-users, developers) have their feedback considered.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Our web-product has scaled very quickly, and we've been able to on-board lots of new team members in a relatively short time.

Wonderful for managing multiple webpages and keeping things organized

October 20, 2016

Anonymous
 
Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

4.5
What do you like best?

As someone without much experience using the program, I find it relatively easy for word processing and editing purposes.

What do you dislike?

I would love to learn more about the code area and using more aspects of the CRM than just edit and preview.

Recommendations to others considering the product

It's a great tool that is pretty easy for non-experienced code users to learn.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Lack of organization is not an issue because everything is organized by page very easily.

Enterprise level CMS but not the best in class

November 14, 2017

Anonymous
 
Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

3.0
What do you like best?

I believe the reliability and scalability of the product is great and also the reliability is brilliant which is obviously a very important factor when choosing a CMS.

What do you dislike?

I believe it does not integrate too well with other SaaS and it is not the most user friendly interface.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Thoroughly evaluate the level of technical knowledge held by the ultimate users as they will be required to be more than limited.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Sitecore allowed me to manage 5 websites across 5 different countries and languages.

Could be improved

December 28, 2017

Anonymous
 
1001-5000 employees

3.0
What do you like best?

Inline editing is pretty easy, but could be faster

What do you dislike?

Uploading images in different sizes, this should be automated

Recommendations to others considering the product

be very patient when learning this software

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Refreshes faster than the previous CMS we used, meaning we see our new content live sooner

Sitecore's latest functionality, optimized user experience exceeded our expectations.

November 07, 2017

Lisa C.
Corporate Vice President Marketing at Huron
Management Consulting, 1001-5000 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Expanded capabilities, streamlined user experience.

What do you dislike?

Lack of native e-commerce capabilities.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Intuitive end user interface, enabling more of my team members to work within the platform. Easy to customize workflows. Scalable to drive our feature rich site. Supports global organization's requirements.

Powerful but complex

December 22, 2017

Anonymous
 
Computer Software, 201-500 employees

2.5
What do you like best?

We've been able to make it do almost anything we want it to.

What do you dislike?

The menus are complicated and hard to navigate

Recommendations to others considering the product

Make sure your folders are clean and organized.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We want powerful web administration for the best price.

Working with Sitecore since 2006, deployed 15+ implementations.

June 05, 2014

Todd H.
Director of Solution Delivery at WEtap Media
Computer Software, 2-10 employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Forward thinking technical design, modular, MVC support, big data, training course, well documented and built on .Net. Large partner community, and lots of successful implementations. Inline page editor, inline designer functions, analytics, workflow and approval process, publishing features and scalability.

What do you dislike?

Not everyone follows best practices, and because the Sitecore application is so robust, poorly designed implementations sometimes pass what some customers believe is the seal of approval test (Load testing). Going through the Sitecore training class means you have a great foundation to continue learning. We see companies purchase the software send their team to Sitecore training and they try to implement their new site with no help. How can someone suggest a path, if they have never walked any of the paths?

Recommendations to others considering the product

Find a partner that is willing to do a complete hand off of the solution they help you design. This means that when the handoff is completed your team can move forward without the partners involvement if you choose to do so. This should include a developer setup guide specific to your solution, with step by step instructions to get a new workstation connected to source control and developing on the Sitecore solution. It should also include a deployment plan and step by step instructions on how to deploy the solution to the content management server and content delivery servers. Documentation about changes to any web.configs.

An experienced partner with a core philosophy of a teacher will pay dividends many times over!

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Diverse solutions being solved, with a rapid development cycle and a shortened time to launch.

A convoluted CMS

April 27, 2016

Anonymous
 
Food Production, 10,001+ employees

What do you like best?

You can eventually bend Sitecore to your will, but it isn't easy. It punishes you for knowing what you're doing, yet doesn't make things easy for non-developers. It's not the worst CMS I've ever used, but it's close.

What do you dislike?

The UX is a nightmare. Sitecore uses the Microsoft ribbon menu style, along with a desktop metaphor. It's overkill. Images are stored in one folder with randomized names, so their filenames are irrational. The versioning system is convoluted. The approval system is so convoluted that I've often resorted to screenshots and email instead.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

It has allowed us to corral many sites under one platform. It has allowed centralization.

Meets the needs but isnt fancy

December 26, 2017

Nicole C.
 

3.0
What do you like best?

Meets basic web experience content needs, no fuss and easy to learn

What do you dislike?

Not a ton of custom option and flashy new tools

Recommendations to others considering the product

add in additional content tools and management experience needs

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

content and user experience

LOVE Sitecore

December 03, 2014

Katie M.
Media Manager at Vitamix
Retail, 10,001+ employees

5.0
What do you like best?

Content is easy to manage and workflows are easy to understand. Sitecore has always provided excellent support to first time users as well as CMS experts. Above all, Sitecore capabilities and technology are so cutting edge that it's fun to put this tool to the test.

What do you dislike?

I highly recommend this product to clients and friends of clients. There is nothing that I have not found (just yet) that I am not a fan of with Sitecore.

Recommendations to others considering the product

The service and technology alone are worth considering with Sitecore when evaluating CMS options.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

In previous client work, we had multiple business units with multiple products and services that needed to be categorized accordingly. The content tagging and categorization helped to organize the entire site in an order that provided ease to the whole team.

Using Sitecore Web Exp Manager

December 13, 2017

Anonymous
 
Consumer Electronics, 51-200 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

A solid enterprise CMS, suitable for managing large scale sites and multiple sites within the same framework. SImple authoring and relatively simple page build.

What do you dislike?

Some page creation is limited, although newer versions have resolved this and the Experience Accelerator is a terrific addition.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Great alternative to Adobe, well thought out upgrades and integrations.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Effective global management of multiple different branded websites. Efficiency to deploy and maintain content on these sties.

User friendly

June 06, 2014

Cheryl C.
Digital Marketing Manager at Provenir
Computer Software, 51-200 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

I enjoy how user friendly the content editor is. It allows users with little knowledge of css and html to edit pages without any problems.

What do you dislike?

It is challenging to make edits to the templates without involving developers, so if you don’t have in house developers it can be expensive to redesign the site.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Great system if you are going to have people with little or no knowledge of html and css edit content within the system.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

The functionality within Sitecore is great. We are currently using tagging in order to sort our content within our knowledge center to make it easier for customers to find what they are searching for.

Early days of SiteCore implementation

December 22, 2017

Anonymous
 
Computer Software, 201-500 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

Have now implemented a very sophisticated web content management platform with capabilities well beyond what we have had in the past

What do you dislike?

Steep learning curve for use of the platform means my team is ramping up slower than expected and quirks in the product deployment have introduced quality issues that distract us from our road map execution

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Moved to a modern commercial CMS platform (from open source)

Frustrating, to say the least

November 08, 2016

Anonymous
 
Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

1.0
What do you like best?

On a very basic level the backend is user friendly, no need to know coding.

What do you dislike?

Simple features, including embedding twitter posts into blogs, do not work. Also, blogs and photos take time to populate which can be frustrating when posting timely posts.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

N/A

Awful. Far too difficult.

January 12, 2018

Anonymous
 
Media Production

0.5
What do you like best?

Not much, not much at all. Actually hated it.

What do you dislike?

Too expensive, too difficult. Hard to find Licensed developers, who are also expensive and tell you 'it takes as long as it takes' which makes missed deadlines a familiar scenario.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Do not use it.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

None. We were handcuffed into using it because Sitecore had sold it in as the clients CMS solution.

SiteCore

December 16, 2014

Anonymous
 
Wholesale, 5001-10,000 employees

2.5
What do you like best?

I like the customization and the enterprise feel. Seems like there is a lot of expansion capability.

What do you dislike?

I don't like how long it takes to do everything. Compared to other CMS platforms I've used, it is very difficult to navigate. Publishing a page a long series of steps for example. Everything takes a long time to do.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Be purposeful in your planning - you really need to make sure you know what you want going in to take advantage of the right features.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Landing page for original content - eCommerce capability and online product category.

Former Sitecore user

January 31, 2018

Anonymous
 
Financial Services, 201-500 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

CMSs, in general, are great. It allows multiple people access to publish and edit a website.

What do you dislike?

I wish it came with beginner training for employees who need it.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We were updating the website via Dreamweaver using raw html with only one or two employees. Now, we have teams updating their own sections of the website using the CMS.

Efficient Ease of Use

November 08, 2017

Nicole S.
 

4.0
What do you like best?

The platform is user-friendly for all levels of background and familiarity with similar tools.

What do you dislike?

Navigation / experience could be improved.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Usability, customer journey

SiteCore Review

December 22, 2017

Anonymous
 
Staffing and Recruiting, 11-50 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

Endless possibilities with what you want to create with it. CMS, CRM, etc. Provides robust solutions and ways to create your content.

What do you dislike?

Not as intuitive as other CMS tools, very expensive solution compared to other tools I've used.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Being able to manage and update content without going through the vendor who created it. CRM and lead tracking.

Difficult to learn, easy once understood

March 14, 2017

Erica C.
Digital Marketing and Projects Manager
Education Management, 201-500 employees

2.5
What do you like best?

The capability to make changes to any portion of the site

What do you dislike?

Not allowing CSS (may just be our version) lack of tech support and FAQ

Recommendations to others considering the product

It is oudated

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

CMS

Sitecore is a great platform but for those with more advanced CMS experience

November 24, 2014

Anonymous
 
Hospitality, 10,001+ employees

3.5
What do you like best?

I liked the functionality of Sitecore. You can manipulate most things to make it do what you want which was great,

What do you dislike?

I learned alot about CMS management when using Sitecore out of pure necessity. It was glitchy and I had to spend quite a bit of time playing with things and resizing in order to make it do what I wanted.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Sitecore is a robust platform and I felt that I would never reach its capacity,

Sitecore for content management

December 08, 2017

Anonymous
 
Education Management, 51-200 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

Sitecore is streamlined and allows us to publish our content in a smooth, seamless process.

What do you dislike?

Occasionally there are glitches that pop up in the content.

Recommendations to others considering the product

I have no qualms about it

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

One benefit is letting multiple editors into Sitecore at once to distribute our workload or look into any issues.

Flexible, but heavy development platform

May 04, 2016

Malia T.
Systems Analyst II at Samaritan Health Services
Hospital & Health Care, 5001-10,000 employees

4.0
What do you like best?

Our new (non production) site is coming along nicely and the environment is flexible!!

What do you dislike?

Few out of the box functions, most basic functionality needs development time.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Better styling capabilities and mobile friendly.

Pleasant experience with Sitecore

December 11, 2014

Anonymous
 
Wine and Spirits, 1001-5000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

The organization of the CMS is top notch. There is an ability to easily create detailed folders for content and media organization.

What do you dislike?

Navigating between the Content Editor and the Media Library can be a bit cumbersome at times.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Sitecore has very impressive clients using their platforms and can handle an immense amount of content.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We are learning how to efficiently curate content that is easily accessible to all Content Specialists on the team. The platform has become a central repository for all original content we are creating. Having this type of cloud-based solution is much more manageable than storing documents in different files across all types of drives in the organization.

I have to use it for work

January 09, 2018

Anonymous
 
Computer Software, 501-1000 employees

2.5
What do you like best?

The file structure is simple and organized and the locking featuring while editing is great.

What do you dislike?

It doesn’t show thumbnails of photos that are uploaded and live.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We host our website in sitecore. I do like it’s feature of only so many users allowed on at a time.

Sitecore Review

December 01, 2014

Anonymous
 
Marketing and Advertising

3.0
What do you like best?

Good CMS for websites with a lot of data and variable elements. Can be used to create sites with multiple languages.

What do you dislike?

Based on my experience with other content management systems, creating new content elements from the templates feels like an unnecessarily long process. Plus, actually entering in data isn't the most fluid process.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We use Sitecore for website creation.

Both client and developer friendly!

December 01, 2014

Anonymous
 
Internet, 11-50 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

I greatly prefer developing with Sitecore over other CMSs. It makes it very easy to deliver almost anything for the client.

What do you dislike?

The browser support for the CMS backend has been spotty of late.

Recommendations to others considering the product

If you can afford it then you probably should be using it!

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Creating robust, personalized websites that are easy to manage by the client.

A robust enterprise-level CMS - not yet ready for eComm primetime

November 20, 2013

Joe G.
Manager, Digital Marketing Channels at Thermo Fisher Scientific
Pharmaceuticals, 10,001+ employees

3.5
What do you like best?

We implemented Sitecore to manage a teen apparel site and found that the development and design was straighforward and flexible. Much like many CMS, the ease of use is a function the quality of development and implementation. It was very easy to perform marketing tasks and content personalization.

What do you dislike?

We found integration to be challenging. Much of this was probably related to our business needs but there was a lot of drag and drop and data manipulation associated with loading new products into the system. While we never sold online using Sitecore, we implemented some of the ecomm functionality.

Recommendations to others considering the product

Implement a staging environment. There's a lot of time and headaches to be saved and avoided here.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We were able to develop a pre-eCommerce site with much of the capabilities FRYI or Demandware

Sitecore is a good tool for corporate websites

December 01, 2014

Anonymous
 
Renewables & Environment, 1001-5000 employees

3.0
What do you like best?

Sitecore has a lot of capabilities, some of which we are not currently leveraging at my company.

What do you dislike?

Sitecore is not extremely intuitive to use.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Allowing our company to have a reasonable public interfact to help educate on what we do. Allows the communications team to do most of the updating without needing intervention by IT.

SItecore is an excellent content management sustem that makes managing web content easy.

January 23, 2018

Anonymous
 
Hospitality, 10,001+ employees

4.5
What do you like best?

SItecore is an excellent content management sustem that makes managing web content easy and streamlined

What do you dislike?

Sitecore can be a bit more on the tech side.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Creating streamlined and luxurious experiences via our website for prospective and returning guests.

Sitecore Experience

December 01, 2014

Anonymous
 
Law Practice, 501-1000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

I really like the easy to use functionalities, for example finding the right links within your site to link to. I like that it is also very customizable and gives you the flexibility to manage your permissions.

What do you dislike?

It hasn't been compatible across all browsers for us and have found it to crash or lag.

Recommendations to others considering the product

N/a

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Content management - it's been very easy to automate certain functions, especially for a multilingual website. This has saved us a lot of time.

Jordans.com built with Sitecore

November 24, 2014

Anonymous
 
Furniture, 1001-5000 employees

4.5
What do you like best?

Ease of Customization, Publishing workflows, versioning, multi-device layouts.

What do you dislike?

Have had issues with some features such as scheduled publishing, wysiwyg editor.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Improved e-commerce capabilities, conversion, organic acquisition through SEO; flexibility with promotional content.

Not the best CMS out there

December 15, 2016

Anonymous
 
Information Technology and Services

What do you like best?

DO not like anything about Sitecore and would recommend other low maintenance..

What do you dislike?

Too high maintennace .lot of ppl pretend to be specialist but are really low level VB developers

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

None. I use other CMS

Powerful but complicated

December 11, 2017

Anonymous
 
Information Technology and Services, 1001-5000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

The ability to tag and build out complex website pages.

What do you dislike?

Requires a developer level resource to manage.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Total site management .

Simple CMS

November 24, 2014

Anonymous
 
Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 1001-5000 employees

3.5
What do you like best?

It is a simple CMS to use. I am starting to prefer things with fewer bells and whistles so they are easier to train multiple users and it answers that need.

What do you dislike?

It has a little less flexibility than I'd prefer, but that wasn't insurmountable.

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

ease of platform usage

Better tools available

December 02, 2017

Anonymous
 
Telecommunications, 10,001+ employees

2.5
What do you like best?

Customizable for the most part without much effort

What do you dislike?

The user interface isn't always easy to use

What business problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Website

Learning about Sitecore Web Experience Manager?

We can help you find the solution that fits you best.

Chat with a G2 guide